Thank you for stopping by The Golden Pen Review, a blog dedicated to promoting authors, giving marketing tips, and publishing insight.

Friday, December 21, 2012

Night Secrets-Review

Vampire twins - one wants to love you, the other wants your blood. A Werewolf - vows to protect you. Magic - stirs within you.

Imagine if Maggie Steifvater, Stephanie Meyer, and Laurell K. Hamilton sat down together to write a fast paced, steamy, paranormal romance full of thrilling twists and turns, featuring thirsty vampires and sexy werewolves.

That's Night Secrets, a suspenseful paranormal romance written by B.K. Walker, author of Dares And Dreams and Death Upon Me.

After Keira Crosby spends months mourning her parents' death, Jared, her best friend, is determined to get her out and moving on with her life. Night Secrets, a new club in town, has a grand opening bringing with it dark secrets of the night and magic within Keira she never knew she had.

For Corbin, Keira ignites his passion. For Dante', she ignites his thirst. It's up to Channing and his pack to keep her alive from the supernatural beings he hates most...Vampires. As the secrets of the night and Keira's heritage unfolds, her world is turned inside out. Who will be the last one standing?

Night Secrets is a fast-paced, page turning paranormal romance with the perfect supernatural mix that you can't stop reading and will leave you aching for more.

The Review

Keara Crosby has everything a girl in high school could want: living in luxury, a jeep, and even a butler. The one thing missing is her parents who were killed in a tragic accident. 

When Keara comes out of the haze of her parent’s death she finds her world changing. She meets a new love, Channing, and finds herself in the world of werewolves, vampires, and herself a shape shifter. Battle lines are drawn when a jealous twin, Dante, assumes she’s the love of his brother, Corbin’s, life and Keara is caught in the middle. 

Night Secrets is a great read. I found myself unable to put it down until I was finished. Once finished I was still left with a lot of unanswered questions which I know/hope will be answered in the next installment. I also enjoyed how the book gave me a different perspective on Morgana who is said to be King Author’s half-sister. I’ve always looked at her in a negative light but this book, though fictional, has opened my eyes to another view of her. 

If not for the feeling of needing more at the end I would give 5 golden stars but it still sits at a 4.5. Great job BK Walker.

Golden Pen Review

This book was provided for reviewing purposes.

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Never After--Jason Robert Macumber

The world of fairy tales is twisted and corrupted. Two years after her entrapment and torture at the hands of the Seven Deadly Trolls, Snow White now works as an assassin for hire. Rude, crude and with her princess status long revoked, she has become a dark angel for the Ever After's damsels-in-distress.

A game of cat and mouse soon begins when two of the Deadlies, Pride and Wrath, return to exact revenge on the fallen princess for the murder of their brothers.
Armed with her trusty dagger carved from the magic mirror, Snow finds herself drawn into a conspiracy that involves an ancient relic from beyond her world's borders and the destruction of her world.

Taking perversion to a whole new level, NEVER AFTER is an estrogen-filled romp to save the Ever After as Snow slices and dices her way through beloved characters leaving no talking animal safe!

Jason will be giving away an ebook at every stop, plus there will be a giveaway for 2 signed paperback copies at the end of his tour for those that follow.   A Rafflecopter code is included, be be sure to mention the giveaway for the ebooks and include the Rafflecopter code with your posts.

Author Links:
Genre: Dark Fairy tale/Fantasy  (Warning: Extremely Mature Content)
Publisher: Melange Books
Release Date: July 31, 2012

Monday, September 10, 2012

A Difficult Transition-Annie Harris

A Difficult Transition

I have just two more weeks with my current personal care aide.  She has been with me since last November and separating will be especially difficult. She is a recent graduate from Penn State and is from Hong Kong.  According to her culture the elders and “the ancestors”, as she refers to those in her culture who are no longer living are highly valued.  In fact, they are revered.  This is something we seemed to have lost sight of in the United States. I was familiar with this cultural tradition among Asians from my undergraduate years at Penn State when several women students from Taiwan invited me to share dinner each evening.  They considered it a privilege to assist an American with a disability in gratitude for being able to attend a university in the United States.  That’s how I have been treated over the past 9 months and it has been a joy to teach this lovely young woman about my particular needs.  She was been a willing assistant as I watched her slow down to my pace and cook according to my instructions as I shared how important nutrition was to managing pain and reducing the inflammation of osteo arthritis.  Any miscommunications or differences of opinions were worked out between us without the assistance of the agency that employed her or my case manager from the Office of Aging.

Those of you familiar with home based care or “elder care,”as it is sometimes called, will know that this is very extraiordinary.  In addition, the agencies were unfamiliar with some one with cerebral palsy living independently into their 6thdecade.  However, my wonderful aide from Hong Kong who, from the beginning, identified herself as Christian assured me, “God is not done with your life yet!  He has more for you.”  That is, apparently true as I have grown much stronger while working with my personal assistant during these past 9 months.  I have lost weight and have established a regular exercise routine with her consistent and reliable help.  I will miss her very, very much!

Yes, the arthritis has spread and  there are days of increased pain.  However,   that does not yet diminish the optimal quality of my life.  This what having my current caregiver has taught me.  I hope it will continue with the person who next comes to assist me.

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Becoming a Better Fiction Writer by Justin E. Geary

   When I first started writing fiction, I was seventeen and totally ignorant of what was required of being a novelist. I wrote two horrible screen plays that embarrass me now, due to the lack of understanding I had at the time. Writing fiction is a learning experience and over time you will learn what you should and shouldn't do. Here are some tips to help the new fiction writer become better prepared: The first tip is understanding the rough draft. The rough draft should always be yours and yours alone. It should be undisciplined and you shouldn't think about anything but the work. Your instincts will tell you when the story or novel is finished. It might be ten pages, it might be a thousand, it really just depends on the writer and the detail of the work.
   You've written the rough draft. “Now what?” you ask yourself. Now you submit it to a professional editor. Be careful when selecting one because some editors will be looking to retire off of you. Two dollars per double spaced page is more than fair and these editors are as good as the ones with the high price tag attached to them. After your novel is edited, you will receive it back and be full of emotion. You will think that the editor is crazy and doesn't know what they're talking about. You will go through many stages of denial before you realize the truth. Editors are a novelists' best friend and you cannot write a good novel without one. What an editor does is very important in the development of the work. You should almost always take the suggestions of your editor. After awhile you will find that you actually enjoy changing parts in your novel and that the work has evolved into something stronger than before. That's what an editor does, they find the weaknesses in your work and tell you about them. You must overcome your pride and make the changes if you want to write a good novel.
   The editorial process is a long process and can takes months sometimes, depending on the novel's length. You will find that your word count will be cut by a considerable amount. This is good because you will have cut loose a lot of dead weight that is keeping the story from being strong. In writing, every sentence must tell you something new and you should not repeat yourself because the reader will get bored.
   Developing character is something that some writers lack and it is very important because it keeps the reader interested in your work. Try and make your characters different and unique in some way and it will make your writing better.
   After editing is finished submit to a second editor to proofread the work. Make the changes and submit to a publisher.

Midnight's Cloak Review

Dark blood of the evil ten; drank by a son of the same brood. Possessed by the taint, he marches to different sections of the world, conquering and destroying everything in his path as a cloak of midnight pulls itself over all things. The great foretelling of LaStaudd the Wise, the age of the Rising Flame.

Genre - Epic Fantasy
Publisher - Outskirts Press
Release Date - May 30, 2012

Purchase Link -

Excerpt's of Midnight's Cloak

After a half hour of travel Aramina woke up.
“You okay sweetheart?” Lot asked.
“I think so,” Aramina said. “I take it the Cael are dead.”
“Yes. Why didn’t you use your magic?” Lot asked.
“I started to, then one of them jumped me from behind. After that everything became hazy,” Aramina said.
“You’re not dizzy or anything?”
“I feel fine,” Aramina said softly. She looked to the right where Clophues rode the gelding and had Snowflake’s reins.
“His name is Clophues. I don’t think he would have shot you. He was just scared.”
“The Cael were chasing him?” Aramina asked.
“Could you let me down so I can ride Snowflake. This saddle is a bit uncomfortable.” Lot stopped Tracker and Aramina climbed down. Clophues stopped his horse as well. She went to Clophues.
“May I have my horse back, please?” Aramina asked.
“Maybe I’ll give her back to you, but I’d like a kiss first,” Clophues said, simpering. Aramina stuck her hand out, expecting it to be filled with Snowflake’s reins. “I’d prefer a kiss on the lips,” the West woodsman said, perking up.
“I’d be careful with her?” Lot warned. Aramina dropped her hand and looked back at the samurai. Her look told him to shut up. Lot watched the two of them intently. She turned back to Clophues. “I can’t kiss you from up there,” Aramina said. Clophues bent sideways to get closer to her. When he got close Aramina grabbed his ear hard and yanked him from his gelding. The West woodsman hit the ground, grunting. Lot chuckled.
“Would you like another?” Aramina asked angrily.
Clophues stood up and brushed off his coat. “You’re mad,” he said.

My Review

When I first began this book I thought I was going to get another weak attempt at smaller version of Lord of the Rings or something along those lines. Boy was I wrong. This book has unique characters which combines wizardry along with a samurai—both of which I have an extreme fascination with. 

This is a fast past book and keeps your interest but it does need a little bit more character development to put it over the top. Justin Geary did a great job coming up with them but once I sat the book down and came back to it I needed reminding of who they were again. 

For a different fantasy read I would recommend this book. I am looking forward to seeing what this author can come up with next. 

3.5 Golden Stars
Golden Pen
*Disclosure of Material Connection: I am a member of The Virtual Book Tour Cafe' and a copy of this book was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by The Virtual Book Tour Cafe', no payment was received by me in exchange for this review nor was there an obligation to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely of my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Fingerprints...Where Do the Lead?--Book Review

Fingerprints is a murder/suspense novel with a love story-and a Multiple Personality Disorder thrown in. It's horrifying when the police come and arrest Julie's son Jeffrey for the murder of the doctor whose body she and Jeff found. But it's also dismaying when tough, independent Julie realizes she's falling for the lawyer she hired to defend Jeff. Clark, the lawyer, has his own shocking problems. The woman he goes to visit in the institution is only one of the personalities of his beloved wife-not the one who killed their little daughter. Liz, the doctor's killer, is perfectly happy with how the police investigation is turning out. And she'll kill again to keep it that way. Will Jeffrey be acquitted and the real killer exposed? Find out where the fingerprints lead.

The Review

First I'd like to say I missed one of my favorite events in the Olympics because of this book. It sucked me in harder than a good LifeTime movie on a Sunday. Julie's resilience to prove her mentally challenged son is innocent is the driving force behind this story. As a mother myself I could see me continuing on long after the police had wiped their hands of it.

Marcia Leonard did a great job with her main characters though a few of her others were textbook. It didn't make a difference because they all worked well together. The budding romance between Julie and Clarke could have been anyone of my neighbors which made it all the more easier for me to relate to them because they were every day people. 

This book made me question the justice system. How many times are innocent people locked up without someone like Julie to fight for them? Just a few weeks ago a man was proved innocent after serving 17 years. If you were wrongly accused would anyone fight for you? What if it was your mentally challenged son? How hard would you fight?

Fingerprints is a well written mystery/who done it in which I didn't know who or why the person killed in the first place. I highly recommend this book to others and am looking forward to more by this author.

4.5 Golden Stars

Golden Pen

This book was provided for review purposes. 

Monday, August 6, 2012

All About Pirates With Douglas Boren

I'm so excited for today's guest. It's not often I get the chance to speak to not only the author but to the characters. Today's guest is Doug Boren.


The tropical paradise known as the Caribbean was anything but peaceful when settled by the nations of Europe. Perhaps the most destructive and brutal terror was inflicted not by navies or armies, but by the ships plying the waters manned by pirates.

Rafe Alexander fled England at an early age to join the pirate crew of the Cutlass, and soon learned of the brutal harm his mother endured at the hands of Ramirez, his own father he had never known.  Joining the fleet of the Black Widow, queen of the largest pirate fleet to ever sail, he vowed to exact his revenge.

But the Black Widow was also driven by the need for vengeance against Ramirez, and she and Rafe plotted their revenge even as their fiery passion consumed them.  Together, they would become the most feared and powerful force the Caribbean would ever see.

But is revenge truly enough to sustain an empty heart?  Can love replace it and soothe the burning of the soul?  As events would move Rafe towards the explosive confrontation, he would find out…and his world would be turned upside down.

Up Close and Personal 
Doug: First of all, I want to thank Golden Pen for the opportunity to talk with them about my new book, Pirates Revenge. It’s an honor. You know, sometimes people ask me if my characters are based on anyone real that I know. I have to admit, that my main character, Rafe Alexander is pretty much me. He says, thinks, feels, and does an awful lot of what I would do in any…

Rafe: Yeah, yeah, cut the crap, mate, and let me talk.

Doug: See what I mean? Sometimes the line gets a little blurred.

Rafe: Well, my vision’s a little blurred ‘cuz me and my mates are on the beach in San Blas, effecting repairs to the ships after a big battle. The rum goes down real well right now.

Doug: OK, then Rafe, tell it your way.

Rafe: I never started out wanting to be a pirate. I was raised in London’s worst slum. My mother had been raped by a Spaniard named Ramirez, which resulted in me. I hated him for what he did to her. But over the years she came to know a sea captain named Sam, who became sort of a father figure to me. We were happy, until… well, Sam and I had to leave England…rather quickly. We didn’t start out with the intention of being pirates, but we were sick and tired of the stench of poverty, and there was really nothing else for us. Besides, I wanted my revenge against Ramirez, even if he was my father.

It’s hard to believe, how many years have passed since we last sat on this beach, on this very spot. It’s hard to believe, how many years have passed since we first went to sea under the Jolly Roger.

Angus : Aye, T’was when we first met the Black Widow.”

Green: A lot has changed since then; we’ve come a long way.

Angus: And the boss… The Black Widow… has her own reasons for wanting Ramirez dead. Remember, I was there!

Rafe: I know. She’s as driven by the need for revenge against him as I am. You know, it was Sam’s last wish that I quit piracy and put the revenge thing behind me. Instead, I’ve become second in command to a pirate nation. There’s not a fleet in the Caribbean that can stand against us.

Angus: Lad, ye have too good a heart for this line of work. But the fact is, you do it well…exceeding well. We live the life that’s dealt us, and there’s nary a thing we can do about it. At least we have both survived and prospered. Much of it thanks to you, and of course, the boss.

Green : Especially you, Rafe. To get between the thighs of the Black Widow is reward any man would be happy with.

Rafe: Mates, you have no idea…

Sands: Arrggh…enough of this melancholy. We be pirates, and pirates we’ll die. In between, we grab for all the life we can…and apologize to no one.”

Doug: All right, guys, that’s enough! I’m going to have to pull rank on you and cover you over. The nice people at Golden Pen may want to say a few words.

Golden Pen: Geez guys…um Mates thanks for stopping by. I know a little about everyone, well Rafe in particular from reading Pirates Revenge so I’ll focus my questions there. Rafe how are things with you and the Black Widow? Being a woman myself I know it must have been hard for her to live a life on the seas but do you really see her as someone capable of love?

Rafe: (sighing and grinning) she is one of the most remarkable people I’ve ever known. She’s as ruthless as she is cunning, as she is beautiful.  Would you believe the day we met she almost ran me through with her sword?  A disagreement over prisoners.  But we have become very, very close, she and I, because of our shared need for revenge against Ramirez.  I know her better than anyone, and I can tell you that despite her rough exterior, there is a heart, and she does feel pain, and yes, even love. But she’ll not show it, at least not to anyone but me. She’s my boss, my friend, and my lover.

Golden Pen: Thanks for the insight Rafe. Now Doug tell us how it that you keep everyone in line? No offense to the pirates. Just doing my job here.

Doug: It’s not that hard.  During the course of writing I feel that I come to know these characters very well, as if they were real people.  I even come to love them as if they were real people, and wish I could hang out with them.  Amongst them, and me, there is a lot of mutual respect going on. Sounds strange, I know, but that’s how I feel.

Golden Pen: Oh I see. So what’s next for you? Any new books, book signings, ect?

Doug: I’m putting the finishing touches on Patriot’s Point, which is the sequel to Pirates Revenge.  It centers on Rafe’s adult children during the American Revolution.  It is my intention to write for each generation of the Alexander Family Chronicles right on up to the present day. I’m always looking for opportunities to promote my works. I have another interview in a couple of weeks, and I will be at the Southern Festival of Books in Nashville in October. Finally, I strongly urge everyone to go to my websites which are dedicated to each of my works.  Go to www.dougboren.homestead.com

Golden Pen: Well Doug thank you and the crew for stopping by. Please be sure to check out Pirates Revenge wherever books are sold.