Welcome

Thank you for stopping by The Golden Pen Review, a blog dedicated to promoting authors, giving marketing tips, and publishing insight.

Friday, June 17, 2011

Author Tiffany Flowers


Tiffany A. Flowers is a native of Chicago, Illinois. Born the child of an artist, she spent the majority of her childhood attending poetry readings, festivals, and art shows with her mother. This is where her love for art began. After graduating from Virginia Commonwealth University with a Bachelors of Science degree in Psychology and a Masters of Arts degree in Early Childhood Education, she went on to complete another Masters of Arts degree in Education from the University of Iowa. After completing her degree, she began her teaching career in both public schools and colleges. Tiffany has taught at several universities and colleges across the United States as an instructor, lecturer, and clinical professor. Those institutions include West Chester University in Pennsylvania, Saint Leo University in Florida, and Clemson University in South
Carolina. During this time she was inspired to tell her students stories about her life. Her students encouraged her to write down her original stories and publish them. So, she began writing her stories in journals for the next seven years. She spent many nights and weekends crafting her books, writing academic papers, and working toward completing her Ph.D. in Literacy. Tiffany considers herself to be an educator, writer, reviewer, literacy advocate, philanthropist, and consultant. 

As a writer, Tiffany is the author and co-author of various academic articles, book chapters, and children’s books. Her academic articles focus on the area(s) of literacy, education, and literature. Her academic work can be found in the Journal for the Liberal Arts and Sciences, Urban Education, and The High School Journal. The titles of her published children’s book releases include I am a Sigma Gamma Rho Legacy, For those who stare at the moon, and Patterns are Everywhere: An Upside Down Pattern Book. She has been featured on radio shows such as the Reading Circle, The Living Hope, Word Thirst Literary Journal, Virtuous Woman, Blogatique with Ananda Leake, and The Cover to Cover Show. She has been interviewed and featured on All the Literary Buzz Reviews, the examiner.com, the Written Voices Blog, the Booktown blog, The Author’s Hideaway, and Black Authors Books.

As a reviewer, Tiffany has reviewed for several academic journals such as The Journal of School Leadership, The International Journal of Multicultural Education, and Equity & Excellence in Education. Tiffany’s professional reviews have been featured in various academic journals such as Teacher’s College Record, The Education Review, and The Journal of African American History. Additionally, she is currently the Literary Director of onixlink.com, and maintains the Golden Butterfly Reviews blog to showcase authors of children’s and young adult books to children, parents, teachers, and librarians.

As a Literacy Advocate, Tiffany has written and received over $40,000 in grants to fund various research-based literacy projects in schools, community centers, correctional facilities, and preschools. Those projects are aimed at pre-K through adult populations and include but are not limited to the African American Read-in Project, The Buddy Reading Project, The Kindergarten Reading Readiness Project, The Kindergarten Mult-ethnic Literature Project, and the Tolerance Project.

As a philanthropist, Tiffany support several charities through monetary donations from the sale of her children’s books. Those charities include The New Orleans Public Library Foundation, The Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. National Education Fund, and The L.E.A.D. Foundation. Additionally, she supports other organizations such as schools, community centers, international charities, and prisons through one time in-kind book donations.

As a lecturer and consultant, Tiffany has presented at various local, regional, and national conferences such as the South Carolina Association for School Libraries, The National Reading Conference, and the Georgia Reading Association Conference. Some of her professional presentation topics for educators include Using Diverse Literature in the Classroom, Reading Strategies for Reluctant Readers, and Writing Diverse Experiences. Additionally, she has presented her work as a children’s author to elementary schools, colleges, churches, and preschools in the United States.

Some of Tiffany’s accomplishments include being listed in Who’s Who among American College Students and Universities. Tiffany was inducted into the Order of Omega Greek Leadership Honor Society. She is a Frederick Douglass Teaching Fellow, and an Indiana University Faculty Fellow. She has appeared in the Easley Progress newspaper, The Advocate Newspaper, and the International Aurora Magazine. In 2010, Poetic Monthly Magazine listed her second book release, For those who stare at the moon as one of the best reads of 2010. Tiffany is also a member of various civic, community, and professional organizations that focus on literacy, diverse histories, and education.

The majority of Tiffany’s children’s stories reflect a culmination of all of her experiences from childhood to adult. However, the ultimate goal of her work is to promote hope and creativity, and to bring joy into the lives of children. Currently, Tiffany is working on her fourth picture book release. Also, she is penning a series book for children in the intermediate grades about growing up in the city. The first book in this series is slated to be released in August 2011.




1. What inspires you as a writer?
I am inspired to write by the experiences that I have in life. I often write about places I travel, things I witness, experience, and dream about.
2.  When did you have that ah ha moment when you knew you were a writer?
I was sitting in my classroom while my students were in P.E. I started day dreaming about some time that I spent with my grandmother. I started writing down a story. I thought that I was only writing for a few minutes. I looked up and realized that I had been writing for thirty minutes. I had to run to pick up my kids on time. I realized as I was running down the hall to get my kids that I am a writer.
3.  What is your writing process?
I get up early in the morning, listen to old school hip-hop music, make myself a bowl of fruit and I write for two to three hours each day. I spend other moments throughout the day editing and revising my pieces. I workshop my stories before I send them out to an editor with different groups of people. I normally work on a story for a few months. Then I send out to an editor to proof for errors and clarity. Then I begin the publication process when the manuscript is returned to me.
4.  Tell us about your favorite character and why you chose to write about them?
My favorite character is my Grandma Barbara. She is the character in a few of my unpublished stories. I chose to write about her, because she was an instrumental person in my life.
5.  What are you currently working on?
I am currently working on a few stories about my grandmother, a silly story, my first scary story, my first chapter book, and a series book.
6.  Any upcoming events?
I am one of the headline authors for the 3rd Annual Market Street Book Fair in Wilmington, Delaware in July. I am looking forward to that event.
7.  Do you have any advice for new writers and something that a seasoned vet can learn?
My advice for new writers is to continue to put out book releases on a steady basis. Your audience tends to take writers that have multiple releases much more serious than the author with a single release. As a seasoned veteran, I learned from a good friend of mine that is a best-selling author that you need to market your books every day. Also, you need to promote your books at all types of events. Your goal is to get your work out to the general public.
8.   Where can your followers find you?
My followers can find me on the following social networking sites:
E-mail: tflowers@goldenbutterflypublishing.com
Publisher’s site: www.goldenbutterflypublishing.com
Twitter: www.twitter.com/publishinggold
Myspace: www.myspace.com/goldenbutterflypublishing
Facebook: www.facebook.com/TiffanyAFlowers
Skype: www.skype.com/goldenbutterflypublishing.com
Linkedin: www.linkedin.com/goldenbutterflypublishing
Youtube Channel: www.youtube.com/goldenbutterflypub
Author’s Blog: http://authortiffanyaflowers.wordpress.com/
Reviewers Blog: http://thegoldenbutterfly.blogspot.com/
Amazon.com: The Golden Butterfly Reviews
9.  Any last words?
If you want to listen to book trailers, read reviews, and learn about upcoming book signings, you can log on to www.goldenbutterflypublishing.com.  
Thank you for stopping by Tiffany. Please leave a comment and visit Tiffany on June 18 for Fiction Addiction to have a copy of your book signed.

Friday, June 10, 2011

The Future of Publishing

Feature Article: The Future of Publishing
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
A lot of people claim that traditional publishing is broken and will eventually die. I disagree. Much like the changes that have occurred in the past in publishing, the big six will survive and so will agents. I do not have any insider knowledge or hidden agenda, nor do I profess to know everything about publishing. Not by a longshot. But I do know how to read the signs of this evolution or revolution, depending on which side of the fence you are on. I believe there have been many signs. Here is how I foresee they will do it.
Self-publishing: In the very near future, all of the houses will spend some of their equity on self-publishing. In order to survive, they are going to have to reinvent the way they do business. This means digging into the self-publishing arena. It's rumored that two major houses are already doing this, and there are likely more to come.


Hay House, for example, has already lent their name to Balboa Press which is their self-publishing arm. I have no experience with Balboa so I can't speak to their process, but I do know that part of their sales pitch to authors is that a successful book published with Balboa will be considered by Hay House for republication. Does this actually happen? I don't know, Balboa hasn't been around long enough to show a track record. If publishers get into self-publishing, does that mean they won't be publishing traditionally? Not at all. The traditional model won't go away, but with publishers becoming more and more risk-averse, the model has to change if they're going to survive. And, let's face it, while the number of bookstores is declining, opportunities to sell books and flood the market with books continue to increase. 

Direct to consumer: While some publishers are dabbling in this, I'm not clear how successful they will be. Consumer engagement on e-commerce sites such as Amazon, etc. will significantly change the way we buy. What does this mean? I think you're going to see a lot more social buying in the future. Social engagement, consumer recommendations, etc.

We're already seeing a lot of this, but I believe we'll see much more of it. Can publishers offer this? Yes, they certainly can, but first they have to overcome the hurdle of consumer awareness. Consumers don't know publishers, they know authors and they know the big e-commerce sites like Amazon, et al. Direct to consumer is great, but when you've been a behind-the-scenes entity for so long, the awareness process can take a while. 


The future of the literary agent: I have heard this directly from a few agents - that in five years literary agents as we now know them will be gone, or at the very least strongly diminished. Will agents go away? Doubtful. I believe the savvy agents will stick around and, like publishing, completely reinvent themselves.

Consider this: for years agents have acted as gatekeepers. Ferreting through manuscripts, often editing work and/or suggesting rewrites to the material. They've done more lunches with publishers than you could ever hope to do in your lifetime, and they've schmoozed at more parties than anyone should ever be forced to attend.
What does all this mean? It means they are more dialed into the industry than almost anyone and this puts them in a fantastic position. It's already brewing out there; several savvy agents are taking it upon themselves to become book consultants. Let's face it, while publishing opportunities may diminish vis-à-vis the traditional houses, the number of authors who want to get published will continue to grow. There will never be a lack of material, and agents are perfectly positioned to make sure that the majority of it is quality material.


Consider this: you have a manuscript and you're not sure if it's a marketable topic. You don't even know if what you've written is any good. Yes, you could hire an editor, but their job is to edit your existing work. Some editors won't give you the kind of feedback that could save you thousands of dollars marketing something that has no audience. An agent can. I foresee that agents will rediscover who they are and what they bring to the table, which is considerable in my view. Book access: The problem that we've always seen in media relations is this: if the book is self-published with limited distribution, it often won't be considered for a major show because show producers know that consumers may have a hard time finding the book. With eBooks and the accessibility of these titles, all of that has changed. Shows are becoming less concerned with how a book is published, they just want topic-related quality titles to discuss on the show. This is great news for authors who previously haven't been able to secure any media for their books because there was no bookstore placement. 

What does all of this mean for you, the author? By this time next year the landscape of publishing will look vastly different. There are more opportunities than ever to see your work in print; and moreover, the odd-man-out which used to be self-publishing is finally getting its due. We are going to see a lot more attention paid to the self-publishing market, and the stigma that's always followed it will diminish greatly. Yes, there will always be less-than-quality self-published books, but let's face it, I've seen traditionally published books fall into that same category.


People often lament the end of publishing as we know it. I actually think that's a great thing. Publishing the old way hasn't worked for a long time. It's always been about exclusivity and often seemed like a high school popularity contest. Breaking down these barriers and leveling the playing field will bring many good things with it, including - and most importantly - some extraordinary authors. Here's to the future! 


Reprinted from "The Book Marketing Expert newsletter," a free ezine offering book promotion and publicity tips and techniques. http://www.amarketingexpert.com



I thought this was a very interesting and insightful article regarding publishing and wanted to share.

The Golden Pen 

Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Special Guest Blogger Bella Marie: The Ups & Downs of Writing Erotica




Meet Bella Marie

Bella Marie - Born May of 1966. Lives in the beautiful Pacific Northwest, is a single mother of two grown children and one pre-teen.  Favorite places include the beach, and any body of water which inspires her to write explicit adult erotic stories.  She started writing stories for friends about 15 years ago who liked them so much, they encouraged her to publish them.  She didn’t follow their advice until she became friends with an Indi Author, Martin Sharlow who encouraged her to publish them, mentoring her on how to do it while watching him become a successful author.  She is working on her second published series at the moment.


The Ups & Downs of Writing Erotica

I started writing explicit adult erotic stories about 15 years ago or so.  I had friends that would give me a topic for instance, such as sex in public, then add in a few variables on what they would like to be in the story and I would write it and send it to them.  Friends that needed a little “pick me up” in the sex department to make a night with their lover or husband interesting were thrilled with them. 
I took up the challenge with gusto.  I could throw a short story together rather quickly and the more that I wrote, the more people begged me to do them for them.  I had probably hundreds of them until one day I decided that I no longer wanted to write them anymore.  I stuck them all on several floppy discs and basically forgot about them for the most part.  I forgot all about the people that told me just how much they loved them and how it made me feel to be able to make people happy with my words. 
When my friends and family found out what I did in my spare time, I was treated very differently then I wanted to be treated.  People tend to pass judgment immediately when they realize that you are doing something as terrible as writing “nasty stories” and therefore, you must be a nasty perverted person.
It bothered me but not more than when I would talk to people and they would only want the stories and heaven forbid you discuss something other than sex!  Needless to say I gave up erotica and started writing short stories.  They were definitely lacking something though for me.  I loved writing, but even though they were ok, they didn’t bring me the satisfaction as it did to write Erotica. 
I met an Indie author, Martin Sharlow, which gave me some good advice.  I loved his books and couldn’t wait for his next one to be published, devouring everything he writes.  He was slowly moving up the charts to become a well-known author that I learned a great deal from.  By now, I had only about 15 stories left that were not lost or corrupted so I got them out and put them together into a book.  I found out that I could publish them after a bit of polishing and I figured it couldn’t hurt.  If I made a few dollars in the meantime, that would be cool.  
When I finished Time Well Spent, I broke it up into smaller parts because it is a collection of stories.  I tried to pair up topics of interest so people that didn’t want to take a chance on a new writer would be able to sample the types of topics that interests them for a small amount & then move onto my other ones if they so desired. 
I am happy to say that I love this new adventure of writing.  I love to hear what people have to say about my books, and I am constantly learning how best to write what people really enjoy.  If I can bring a small bit of pleasure to people, while doing something I love, I am very happy indeed. 
Happy Reading!
Bella Marie

How about some exciting explicit adult erotica for the nights by the fire, or maybe in the bathtub with a glass of wine? Alone or with a friend, spouse, or lover, this almost 31,000 word, 15 total short stories are sure to warm you up even if you don’t have a fireplace! With no names in the stories it is easy to imagine yourself in the adventures, enjoying right along in the fun.

Here is an idea of what you will find in this adults only book….

The New Beach House
A contractor builds his dream home on the beach.  He is very excited to share it with the woman that he has fallen in love with.  He surprises her by taking her out to see the finished home and propose to her as well.  They end up enjoying a wonderful day of lovemaking both inside the new home, and outside in the waves on the secluded beach. 

Friends
Two friends get together for a hot night of passion.  They meet up at a bar and go to her house where they enjoy some intense self-pleasure as well as backdoor fun.  They shower together at the end of the story as they continue into the next story.

Dinner Out
The two friends decide to go out to dinner at a Mexican Restaurant.   They sit in a dark corner pushing the limits of exploring sex in public to see how far they can go without being caught. 

A Night to Remember
A married couple enjoys experimenting with mild bondage and she has decided that she wants to really enjoy herself when her husband gets home.  She gets all ready, complete with a new outfit, ropes on the kitchen table, and a tray set up with hidden toys.  It’s her turn tonight and she bought a wonderful new large toy just so she can find out how far she can push him.

Surprise Meeting
A woman is surprised while shopping by an old friend that comes up behind her.  They end up going to her place for a night of intense sex with a little spanking to go along with it. 

Other stories include stories about friends, as well as total strangers enjoying a variety of pleasures that are sure to inspire most interests.  There is also a lesbian story where they are joined by a man to make it threesome enjoying amazing pleasure at a waterfall; a story on a cruise ship, and 10 more explicit adult erotic stories.   
Happy Reading!
Bella Marie

Warning: Adults Only! Explicit Adult Sexual Content

Monday, June 6, 2011

Whose Fault is it?

             
As an author I consistently roam the message boards of writer’s forums looking for tips or any posts on marketing. Over the years I have noticed one big complaint, “My book isn’t selling. It’s my publishers fault”. The last time I checked it was a publisher’s job to do exactly what the name publisher implies—to publish your book.

Publishing defined is: the business or profession of the commercial production and issuance of literature, information, musical scores or sometimes recordings, or art. To make my point I even have used another dictionary definition, publishing: Traditionally, the selection, preparation, and distribution of printed matter—including books, newspapers, magazines, and pamphlets. Contemporary publishing includes the production of materials in digital formats such as CD-ROMs, as well as materials created or adapted for electronic distribution. Nowhere in either definition does it say a publisher will guarantee my book sales. Sorry, that’s for us to do. They can get the book to the book sellers, but they cannot make a reader purchase the book.

I wanted to know how widespread this misconception was so I queried a close friend in the publishing business and her response shocked me. She stated that authors email publishers on a daily basis regarding lacking sales. She went on further to state most publishers request a marketing plan prior to considering a book for publication, and the company she works for is no exception. So, what’s the issue? The authors are not following their own marketing plan for how they would market their own book once published. If you have yet to set up your own interviews, book signings, albeit small or large, promoted it on networking sites, or even given yourself a release party then who is really to blame here? 

The bottom line is the publishing industry is saturated with authors. Stop complaining if you are not doing what it takes to get your name out there. Get your head out the sand and get to work. Be your own publicist if you can’t afford one. Who can toot your own horn better than you? It is easier to place blame than accept were we fall short. By no means am I exempt. I have only done one signing this year, but then again I am not complaining about my sales.

The Golden Pen
http://thegoldenpenreview.blogspot.com/

Friday, June 3, 2011

Darkness is Coming, Interview With Kane


Aleron must cope with a timeless existence, seeing those he loves suffer the fate of mortality, while he remains cursed with eternal life. What if your immortal origin as well as others of your kind were hidden from you by the one you loved most; the one who gave you into a life of darkness and a lust for the sweetest nectar? These dilemmas and more face Aleron, but he must first learn to live, to survive, and most of all, to feed.

Seduced by the alluring vampire Mynea, Aleron learns what it truly means to be immortal as he adapts to his new life and new insatiable lust. She is teaching him to give her what her maker never has. She desires a new king and a new coven. Hearts, minds, and vampire souls intertwine as long kept secrets crawl out from the grave, refusing to remain buried beneath earth and lies. A blood kiss between them reveals a darker and even deadlier soul that has learned of Aleron’s blasphemous existence. Vlad is the beginning, the father of them all. Mynea must not let her young prince learn of her ancient king. Can a vampire truly love and trust another of his kind when their very lives depend on skillful deceit? 

Walking a thin line between life and death, Aleron is certain of one thing, if love is, then blood is.

Aleron is available in paperback, hardback, and ebook

1.  What inspires you as a writer?
Kane: What has inspired me most is my insistent new immortal friend. You know, how do you deny a vampire? Aleron is very insistent, not that he needed to be. The story of the Strigoi is a fascinating one. Tales I would gladly tell until I can no longer write. Anne Rice and Bram Stoker are my favorite authors. Bran Stoker brought the modern day vampire into being while Anne Rice offered a window into the lives of immortals in an elegantly seductive way. Perfection is her book Memnock The Devil. I think I will read it again tonight.
2.  When did you have that ah ha moment when you knew you were a writer?
Kane: When I was in Jr. high, the English teacher would always give us these writing assignments that everyone hated. Everyone besides me. I began writing plays which included many students in the class. The teacher began letting the students act out my plays and it became our monthly tradition. I realized I had a knack for entertaining people through the written word. I haven’t stopped since.
3.  What is your writing process?
Kane:I have an uncanny knack for realism in my writing. So I often want to experience what I am writing about first hand. That is why I decided to dive into the history of the undead beginning where the legend of Vlad originated, Romania. Once I’ve gathered the necessary research and details about the setting, I spend more time getting to know my characters. Often times, I imitate them when interacting with others. This really allows me to know my characters, and thus able to write effectively about them so my audience gets to know and understand them. Typically I write at night and don’t sleep until the morning. No phones are ringing. No one is awake, accept those who I write about; however they typically don’t bother me as long as I keep my promise. And so far I have.

4.  Tell us about your favorite character and why you chose to write about them?
Kane:   My favorite character of the book ‘Aleron’ is indeed Aleron. Taken from all that he knows to be, and thrust into a world where his dreams and desires become his reality and what was once real is called into question. Aleron embodies everything we want in a hero. He goes through a life changing transformation and still adjusts to his new found lust while maintaining his humanity. Aleron lives to love and loves to live, thus he takes us on a journey through his eyes and thoughts that we will never be able to forget. I love Aleron for his intelligence, strength, and exacting ways. He is a humane demon, if there ever was such a being.
5.  What are you currently working on?
Kane:   Of course I can’t leave fans hanging for long, so I am diving deeper into Mynea and Vlad’s tale which will be revealed in Book 2 of the Strigoi Series. I am also working on The Nephilim Project which is a fantastical tale about the beauty and evil when God’s True Sons (Angles) embrace the sensuality of the daughters of humankind as well as the division that occurred in Heaven through Satan’s challenge. Nephilim is guaranteed to quench that romantic and supernatural thirst of yours. And in the not so distant future, you can expect to see our hero Aleron on the BIG Screen!
6.  Any upcoming events?
Kane:   There will be some publicized book signings and release parties scheduled in most major cities in the US and some abroad. We are also shooting a mini documentary in Bucharest Romania beginning May 24-May 29, where we will feature many places described in the book. This will surely wet your pallet. Say tuned for the latest news at www.aleron.co
7.  If you could be anyone you like, who would you be?
Kane:   Very loaded question. I would be Adam, the first man, the father of us all. Hence the battle between good and evil would have ended in Eden.
8.  Do you have any advice for new writers and something that a seasoned vet can learn?
Kane:   Absolutely. Write was is important and interesting to you. If someone doesn’t like it, so what. You do, and that’s why we are here. Also, be sure to keep reading whether the work is good or not so good, for all of it will make you a better writer. Of course, as you continue to write, be sure to reward yourself along the way, with whatever makes you happy, or tipsy.
9.   Where can your followers find you?
 Kane:   Aleron and I can be found on Twitter (Aleron11), FaceBook (Aleron Kane), www.aleron.co, and Authors Den (Kane A.) or simply email at aleron@aleron.co.

10.              Any last words? 
Kane:   Yes. Thank you for having me over and drugging me in order for me to tell you all of my secrets! Just kidding. I really appreciate the time we spent together and I pledge to keep giving my readers exactly what they want.
 


Thank you so much for stopping by Kane! Looking forward to hearing more about this Aleron. Guests please check out both trailers. 

Thursday, June 2, 2011

Chicago's Printers Row Bookfest, June 4-5

 As a member of Sigma Gamma Rho I am proud to repost this from the Golden Literary Circle. Please stop by and visit these wonderful authors in Chicago. Good luck my sorors!

During the Printers Row Bookfest, we plan to promote the following authors:
Beverly Jenkins, Historial Romance & YA Author
         
Ms Jenkins’ historical romance novels highlight African/American life in the 19th century. She has 22 published novels to date.

She has received numerous awards for her works, including: six Waldenbooks/Borders Group Best Sellers Awards; two Career Achievement Awards from Romantic Times Magazine; a Golden Pen Award from the Black Writer’s Guild, and in 1999 was named one of the Top Fifty Favorite African-American writers of the 20th Century by AABLC, the nation’s largest on-line African-American book club.
She has also been featured in many national publications, including the Wall Street Journal, People Magazine, Dallas Morning News and Vibe Magazine. She has lectured at such prestigious universities as Oberlin University, the University of Illinois, and the University of Michigan. She speaks widely on both romance and 19th century African-American history.

In 2004 Ms. Jenkins branched out into romantic suspense with the publication of Edge of Midnight. Her first, faith based, women’s fiction, Bring on the Blessings will be published in Jan 09. Her two teen historicals: Belle and Josephine have been reissued and are on sale now. You can find out more about her work by logging on to http://www.beverlyjenkins.net/.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Omegia Keeys, YA & Erotic Romance Fiction Author
           
Omegia Keeys debuted as an Erotic Author in 2007 with Passionate Playmates (republished in 2010) whose follow ups are Seduction.com in 2009, and Can You Keep a Secret 2010. She has been featured on Allure Radio, Street Vibes Mix Radio, and in Indy Blackout Magazine. Keeys was recently nominated for the Scribe Award at the National Black Book Fest and her title Can You Keep a Secret was selected as one of Conversations Magazine’s top 100 books of 2010. Omegia’s short story, C.K., was recently chosen to appear in the anthology, Unloved, a novel dedicated to bringing awareness to bullying and suicide. Omegia also writes Young Adult fiction under the pen name of Key Rollins. The Baby Girl was release in March of 2011.

Currently Omegia is working on her next titles, the Fantasy Girls Collection, an erotic mystery initialed, Shattered: Secrets between Sister’s, and a non fiction memoir. To learn more about Omegia please visit her at http://www.omegiakeeys.com/. You can also purchase copies of her releases by logging on to www.passionatewriterpublishing.com as well as all book retailers.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Karla Brady, YA & Women’s Fiction
   
K. L. Brady is a D.C. native but spent a number of her formative years in the Ohio Valley. She’s an alumnus of the University of the District of Columbia and University of Maryland University College, earning a B.A. in Economics and M.B.A., respectively. She works as an analyst for a major government contracting firm and is an active real estate agent with Exit Realty by day—and writes by night (often into the wee hours of the morning). She lives just outside of D.C. in Cheltenham, Maryland, with her son and lives to eat chocolate, shop, read, and write.

Her upcoming adult novel, THE BUM MAGNET, will be published by Simon & Schuster’s Pocket Books in March 2011. THE BUM MAGNET was the winner of the 2010 Next Generation Indie Book Awards for Multicultural Fiction, as well as the Third Place Grand Prize Winner for Best Fiction of 2010. You can find out more about her work by logging on to http://www.authorklbrady.com/.

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

From the Mind of HD Hatcher


1. What inspires you as a writer?

I would have to say that life in general has been my inspiration. The people in our lives can either be a healthy compliment to us, or they can be a toxic drain. Trust me, I have witnessed both and some of them are represented in my writing in one form or another.

2.  When did you have that ah ha moment when you knew you were a writer?

My first ah ha moment came when I had the idea for A Cold Dark Place. I would literally wake up from a sound sleep with an idea that I just had to get down on paper.

3.  What is your writing process?

The writing process for me involves turning on my Ipod and drinking an ice cold beer. Sometimes, an idea for a whole chapter can come from a single song. The beer helps relax me and allows my brain to communicate my ideas nearly uncensored.

4.  Tell us about your favorite character and why you chose to write about them?

Andy is my favorite character. I think that we have all wanted someone in our lives that loved us unconditionally and without judgment; someone that cares for us deeply and unconditionally, and will do anything in their power to make sure that we are safe.

5.  What are you currently working on?

I am currently working on two projects (As if I wasn't busy enough). I am currently working on a literary project with the very talented Autumn Prince that I am really excited about. It is a gay themed vampire story set in Charleston SC. As for project #2, this one is a break from the norm for me. I can't give away the details just yet. But, let's just say that it something that may surprise a few folks.

6.  Any upcoming events?

I am sure that by the time this interview is published, the South
Carolina Book Festival will have come and gone. However, (just in case) it will be held Saturday May 14th at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center, Columbia, SC starting at 10 a.m. There is another event that I am really excited about. I collaborated with some very talented writers for the anthology entitled, Unloved by The Author Project.  All of the short stories center around the theme of bullying and suicide. Unloved has made the front cover of the June/July edition of Conversations Magazine thanks to Cyrus Webb. He has been a big supporter of the Author Project and the message that we are sending. All proceeds from Unloved will go to charities in support of Bully Prevention and/or Suicide Prevention.

7.  If you could be anyone you like, who would you be?

If I could be anyone I like, I would be Carrie White. Let's just put it this way, the roads would be a whole lot safer, people would think twice before they annoy me, and I would the "must invite guest" for Bonfires and BBQ(s). The only bad thing, is I would have to keep the fire department on speed dial.

8.  Do you have any advice for new writers and something that a seasoned vet can learn?


9.   Where can your followers find you?

Feel free to visit me at my personal website: www.hdhatcher.com
Facebook: facebook.com/Author.HDHatcher

10. Any last words?

Let me offer writers this tidbit of advice. Don’t sweat the small stuff.
Everyone is not going to love your style of writing, and not everyone is going to give your book a “stand on their head and clap” review. So be it. But, in the same breath there is someone out there that will. This is who you write for.

Lastly, thank you for having me and giving you the opportunity to tell you a little bit about myself.
 
 

Thank you so much for stopping by HD Hatcher and gracing us with your wisdom and humor. For all those who didn't know Unloved is an Anthology dedicated to Bullying and Suicide Prevention. All proceeds go towards charities in support of this great cause.